‘Repo! The Genetic Opera’

You'll excuse me if I SHOUT, as my treacherous brain seems to have soaked up the song featured in the above trailer for Darren Lynn Bousman's Repo! The Genetic Opera, and is now trying to deafen me with it.

My own fault, really. The moment I spied Sarah Brightman in the credits, I should've kept well clear. It was her vocalizations with Michael Crawford in the original cast recording of The Phantom of the Opera that sidelined me for a good three years back in my early 20s. Come to think of it, Tony Head's singing in the Buffy the Vampire Slayer musical episode "Once More With Feeling" had a similar effect, and who do we find co-starring in this extravaganza? Once shame on them...

While we horror fans do get the odd glimmer of something new and different bubbling up from the ooze of the everyday (Inside being one of the best and most recent examples of this), I can't remember the last time I saw a trailer for something that actually made me feel like I was catching a glimpse of something completely unique.

There have been a lot of shiver-inducing backstage rumblings about film distributors having no idea how to market this rock opera about a designer body part company sending its "repo man" (Head) out to snatch back these parts from those who miss their payments. On behalf of every soul out here desperately wanting to see this work, let me say to the suits: "Please don't fumble this one! We have put up with far too much crap for far too long to miss out on a truly original work."

Sigh. Now where's that Phantom album...

[Note: Repo is having its North American debut at the Fantasia Film Festival in Montreal July 18th.]

Leave a Reply

